For Sylvia

June 15, 2012 § Leave a comment

“They must often change,
who would be constant in happiness or wisdom.”
Confucius

“It’s my first time to be truly amazed by visual teaching since I discovered mind mapping ten years ago…!!”

This post is inspired by Sylvia Guinan, who wrote the line above on Facebook, about Language Garden.

Well, as you can imagine, such a comment sent tingles to my toes. I know how she feels though, because, by heavens! I remember to this day my first encounter with mind maps too.

Sign up for Free Resources

People coming to The Mind Map Book for the first time are, through perhaps years of study with solely linear texts, mostly unaware of non-linear representations of knowledge. The book does a clever thing: it makes you commit yourself to your old ways, ingrained habits, and then voilà! it reveals to you another, unexpected, and highly impressive, artistic, holistic alternative.

I fell for it. It said: “In two minutes, write down everything you can about Space Travel.”

I took up the challenge, my pen a blur, the words barely legible as I attempted to put down all I could summon up before the second-hand ticked round twice.

Sign up for Free Resources

I turned the page, as it said, and was presented with a mind map, another way of writing, presenting, flowing. With the main topics branching off from the central idea, you can jump back and forth between ideas, and build up a complete picture. This method smashed to smithereens the myth I had unwittingly adhered to that learning starts at the beginning and stops at the end.

I loved their organic nature, the way they grew and connected. I was smitten. Thence, via the Lexical Approach, which my new rap buddy Jason Levine loves too, to language plants. So how about making a mind map, using the plant maker if you wish (just click on the blank page and start typing), on a subject of your choosing? Here’s mine, retracing those original steps which changed my vision forever.

Make me a Mind Map

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading For Sylvia at language garden.

meta

