Learn Chinese with Brad

September 8, 2011 § 8 Comments

In Cologne a few months ago, in-between two lectures given on consecutive nights by Professor Noam Chomsky, and whom I was able to have some memorable words with afterwards, I met a young dynamic Chinese friend of Mathilda, my wife who had only recently finished her degree in Germany but had already set up her own company importing pet products from China, by boat, to Germany. It was a truly impressive tale Yanjin told, bringing in container loads of dog kennels and cat baskets and all those things Rosco and Tiddles and Joey need to improve their lot to three major distributors who themselves shipped them on to individual shops around the country.

I took it upon myself – with the help of a pencil, rubber and my trusty notebook – to learn a bit of Chinese related to her work. The plant had lain unused, but Bread’s – you’ll understand if you’ve read it – recent post where he recorded himself speaking Chinese reaffirmed my desire to create a lesson, and a post, around it.

I am therefore most grateful both to Yanjin and to Brad, and hope you enjoy 4 minutes learning Chinese with us both.

“Animals are such agreeable friends –
they ask no questions;
they pass no criticisms.”
George Eliot

§ 8 Responses to Learn Chinese with Brad

  • Glad to be of service.

    A bit of language gardening is always a pleasure šŸ˜‰

  • Chiew says:

    Brad, I have no idea how you managed to learn Mandarin – it seems to me like an impossible task! Being in the country is probably a prerequisite, and I think it also helps if one has innate musical talents!
    Dave, if you need help in grooming the garden, I may be interested šŸ™‚

  • Vicky Loras says:

    David, Brad, what else can I say apart from super awesome post!!!

    David, I love this series of posts you started with language learning (well, I don’t know if it is a series, but would love to see it develop that way!). Brad, you are super, awesome, fantastic! As Baiba said on Twitter, is there anything you can’t do? I admire you so much for all that you do!

    Beautiful post, congratulations David and Brad!

    Many thanks,
    Vicky

  • Dustin says:

    Brad, I found you via your Twitter feed. Thanks for the post. I want to brush up on my Chinese skills… aiya.. so quick to forget

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Learn Chinese with Brad at language garden.

meta

